/   Home   /   Newsroom   /   News Updates

Four Scientists Win China's 2019 Future Science Prize

Sep 09, 2019     Email"> PrintText Size

The Future Science Prize announced on Saturday that four scientists will be crowned this year for their contributions to fields in science and technology.

SHAO Feng, from the National Institute of Biological Sciences, Beijing, clinched the prize in life sciences for "seminal discoveries of cytosolic LPS receptors and downstream effectors in inflammatory responses to pathogenic bacteria," according to the official website.

WANG Yifang and Kam-Biu Luk were co-awarded the prize in physical sciences as they discovered a third pattern of neutrino oscillations in experiment, opening the way for new physics beyond the Standard Model, in particular to understanding the asymmetry between matter and antimatter in the universe.

WANG Xiaoyun, with the Institute for Advanced Study of Tsinghua University, won the prize in mathematics and computer science. She is also the first female scientist to bag the prize since its founding. Her pioneering work in cryptography has revealed the weaknesses of the widely used cryptographic hash function and promoted new generation of cryptographic hash function standards.

WANG hopes that this award will promote the future development of mathematics and computer science in China, especially the intersection of the two directions

The Future Science Prize, established on January 17, 2016, is the first non-governmental science award on the Chinese mainland jointly sponsored by scientists and entrepreneurs. It sets three award categories, namely, life science, physical science, and mathematics and computer science. Each category will reward the laureate with 1 million U.S. dollars provided by four donors.

The prize focuses on original basic science research and rewards scientists who have made outstanding scientific and technological achievements in China. (CGTN)

(Editor: LIU Jia)


Related Articles

WANG Yifang;particle physics;Daya Bay

Asia’s Scientific Trailblazers: Wang Yifang

Sep 15, 2017

Given his significant contributions to particle physics research, it may come as a surprise to readers that Professor Wang Yifang started out as a reluctant physics student at Nanjing University. During the early 1980s, particle physics was a narrow an...

WANG Yifang;Bruno Pontecorvo Prize;international Prize

China Physicist WANG Yifang Awarded 2016 Pontecorvo Prize

Mar 01, 2017

The jury of the International Bruno Pontecorvo prize announced on February 27 that the Bruno Pontecorvo Prize for 2016 is to be awarded to Prof. WANG Yifang from the Institute of High Energy Physics for his outstanding contribution to the study of neut...

WANG Yifang;foreign member;RAS;Russian Academy of Sciences

WANG Yifang Elected Foreign Member of Russian Academy of Sciences

Nov 03, 2016

Prof. WANG Yifang, director of the Institute of High Energy Physics and member of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, was elected a foreign member of the Russian Academy of Sciences (RAS) in late October, according to an announcement by RAS.

Contact Us

Copyright © 2002 - Chinese Academy of Sciences