/   Home   /   Resources   /   Archive   /   China News   /   2005

Recipients of the Albert Einstein Visiting Professorship in 2006 announced

Sep 07, 2005     Email"> PrintText Size

    A total of 15 world-renown scholars, including six Nobel Prize laureates and one Turing Award winner, will be invited to visit CAS institutes under the prestigious program of the CAS Albert Einstein Visiting Professorship in 2006. The announcement was made recently in Beijing.

    Launched in 2004, the Program is designed to enhance the development of its leading scientists, raise the innovation abilities of its staff and strengthen their contacts and exchanges with scientific elites around the world.

    The Program invites up to 30 world-class scientists each year to visit CAS for about two weeks. Those eligible for the Program include laureates of the Noble Prize and similar honors. The winners are expected to give academic lectures and carry out academic exchanges.

    Each April, CAS institutes begin to accept applications for the Program of the next year. The winners are selected at a panel chaired by CAS President Lu Yongxiang.

    The first batch of 13 recipients of the professorship was invited to visit CAS institutes in 2005. The winners in 2006 are:

    Aaron Ciechanover, Technion-Israel Institute of Technology, Israel;

    Avram Hershko, Technion-Israel Institute of Technology, Israel;

    Charles Antony Richard Hoare, Microsoft Research in Cambridge, the United Kingdom

    Claude Cohen-Tannoudji, Dëpartment de Physique, Eole Normale Supirieure, Paris, France;

    Daniel Kahneman, Princeton University, the United States;

    Douglas C. Wallace, University of California, the United States;

    John E. Sulston, the Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute, the United Kingdom;

    Masatoshi Koshiba, University of Tokyo, Japan;

    Nils Christian Stenseth, University of Oslo, Norway;

    Randy Gaugler, Rutgers University, the United States;

    Stanley N. Cohen, Stanford University, the United States;

    Steve Tanksley, Cornell University, the United States;

    William H. Schlesinger, Duke University, the United States;

    Wolfgang Haber, the Technical University Munich, Germany; and,

    Yonathan Zohar, University of Maryland Biotechnology Institute, the United Sates.

    For more information, contact:

    Ms. Zhu Haoquan

    CAS Bureau of Personnel and Education

    52 Sanlihe Road

    Beijing, 100864, China

CAS Institutes

There are 124 Institutions directly under the CAS by the end of 2012, with 104 research institutes, five universities & supporting organizations, 12 management organizations that consist of the headquarters and branches, and three other units. Moreover, there are 25 legal entities affiliated and 22 CAS invested holding enterprises...
>> more

Contact Us


Chinese Academy of Sciences

Add: 52 Sanlihe Rd., Xicheng District, Beijing, China  

Postcode: 100864 

Tel: 86-10-68597523 (day)   86-10-68597289 (night)

Fax: 86-10-68511095 (day)  86-10-68512458 (night)

E-mail: cas_en@cas.cn

Contact Us

Copyright © 2002 - Chinese Academy of Sciences