About CAS Newsroom Science & Technology International Cooperation CAS Institutes Scientists Education & Training Resources Join Us
  Location : Home>Newsroom>China News
  China News
Backdrop: CAS Foreign Members (1994-2004)

    According to the Bylaw of CAS Members, scholars and specialists of foreign nationality who have made important contributions to the S&T cause in China and who enjoy high academic standing internationally may be nominated and elected Foreign Members of CAS. From 1994 to 2004, six elections have been held and a total of 52 Foreign Members were elected.

    The first election was held on June 8, 1994, and 14 scientists were elected CAS Foreign Members: Derek Harold Richard Barton (U.K.), Leroy L. Chang (U.S.), Shiing-Shen Chern (U.S.), Yuan-Cheng B. Fung (U.S.), Tsung-Dao Lee (U.S.), Chia-Chiao Lin (U.S.), Joseph Needham (U.K.), Peter. H. Raven (U.S.), Herbert A. Simon (U.S.), Chang-Lin Tien (U.S.), Samuel C.C. Ting (U.S.), Chen Ning Yang (U.S.), Chien-Shiung Wu (U.S.), and Shing-Tung Yau (U.S.).

    In the second election 10 Foreign Members were elected on June 7, 1996: Robert Wolfgang Cahn (U.K.), Alfred Y. Cho (U.S.), Wilbur Norman Christiansen (Australia), C.W. Chu (U.S.), Yuet Wai Kan (U.S.), Charles K. Kao (U.S.), Tung-Yen  Lin (U.S.), Ho-Kwang Mao (U.S.), Y.Ron Shen (U.S.) and Peter J. Wyllie (U.S.).

    The third election was held on June 5, 1998, eight Foreign Members were elected: Burrel Clark Burchfiel (U.S.), Steven Chu (U.S.), Ernest S. Kuh (U.S.), Norman N. Li (U.S.), Jacques-Louis Lions (France), Rudolph A. Marcus (U.S.), Helmut Moritz (Austria) and Olgierd Cecil Zienkiewicz (U.K.).

    The fourth election was held in June 2000, seven Foreign Members were elected: Y. Austin Chang (U.S.), Chee Daniel Tsui (U.S.), Yu-Chi Ho (U.S.), Tomas Hokfelt (Sweden), Hiroo. Inokuchi (Japan), Hartmut Michel (Germany), Chih-Tang Sah (U.S.).

    The fifth election was held in June 2002. Seven Foreign Members were elected: Frank. A. Cotton (U.S.), Else Marie Friis (Sweden), Brian John Höskins (U.K.), Thomas S. Huang (U.S.), Gurdev S. Khush (India), Wolfgang K.H. Panofsky (U.S.), Theodore Yao-Tsu Wu (U.S.).

    The sixth election was held in 2004. Six scientists were elected new Foreign Members:

    Andrew Chi-Chih Yao (U.S.), Guy B. De-The (France), Jean-Marie Lehn (France),   Richard N. Zare (U.S.), Torsten N. Wiesel (US), Yum-Tong Siu (US).

    According to the by-law, the election of Foreign Members is held every two years. A candidate for Foreign Members shall become eligible only when nominated by not less than five Members. At election, each Member may nominate no more than two candidates. The election shall be held at the CAS General Assembly by secret ballot. A candidate will be elected a Foreign Member when more than half of the membership take part in the election and when the candidate wins not less than two their of the votes cast.

    The by-Law stipulates that Foreign Members have the right to make suggestions for the S&T development in this country and the work of CAS Academic Divisions. When invited, they may attend relevant meetings and academic activities organized by the divisions, and they may receive publications issued by the divisions. They are not entitled to nominate candidates for Members or Foreign Members, or to vote or stand for election at CAS Academic Divisions.
About CAS  CAS Institutes  Newsroom  Administration  Jobs Science & Technology  Scientisis  International Cooperation  Education & Training  Publications  Resources  Archive
Copyright © 2002 - 2013 Chinese Academy of Sciences    Email:
Tel: 86-10-68597592 (day)  86-10-68597289 (night)    Fax: 86-10-68511095 (day)  86-10-68512458 (night)
Add: 52 Sanlihe Rd., Xicheng District, Beijing, China    Postcode: 100864